Liverpool waterfront


The Liverpool World Heritage Site consists of six distinct Character Areas and a Buffer Zone.

The six Character Areas convey the key attributes and tell the story of the commercial enterprise of Liverpool as a global trading port, and the civic and cultural institutions that grew as part of this trade. They help define its physical characteristics. It encompasses much of the city centre and its central docks.

…It is this character of Liverpool as the great traffic exchange of the world that gives the port such a cosmopolitan tone, and that makes its name so familiar in every land and on every sea.

Contemporary Biographies, edited by T.Pike Publisher, 1911

Explore our map

Hover over map numbers to view character area detail

  1. The Pier Head
  2. Albert Dock Conservation Area
  3. Stanley Dock Conservation Area
  4. Commercial District
  5. Cultural Quarter
  6. Merchants’ Quarter
  7. Buffer Zone

Copyright Liverpool City Council